Goto your account
Search Stories by: 

News, Diamonds

Diamond Guild Awards finalists named

Diamond Guild Australia has announced the finalists for its biennial Jewellery Awards.

Entrants across six categories have been recognised for their “exemplary workmanship and creative integrity” by the panel of industry professionals who selected the winners to be announced on 16 October.

Interior designer Greg Natale, actress April Rose Penilly, general manager of Good Design Australia Rachel Wye and jewellery designer John Calleija made up the judging panel and were tasked with up to three shortlisting three contenders for the prizes.

The winner of each category will go on to be in the running for the Supreme Award that recognises the pinnacle of jewellery design excellence in Australia.

The winners will be announced at the Diamond Guild Australia Gala Event in Melbourne as the ceremony makes its way to Victoria for the first time. It will be the first Guild Awards since its extended hiatus after the event was postponed last year to avoid conflict with two other local design competitions.

The finalists for each category are as follows:

  • Solitaire 
    Ben Preston-Black from Creations Jewellers
    Jeff Einstein from Jeff Einstein Jewellery
    Athena X Levendi from Levendi
  • Fancy colour 
    Ben Preston-Black and Wisam Sarji from Creations Jewellers
    Jake Coughlan from Refraction Manufacturing Jewellers
    Jodi Penfold from Jewels of the Kimberley
  • Diamonds for everyday
    Matthew Townsley from Miraj Jewellery
    Ben Preston-Black and Wisam Sarji from Creations Jewellers
    Matthew Staff from MJS Jewellery
  • Diamonds for men
    Niki Jackson from J Farren-Price
    Brett Wood from Brett’s Jewellers
  • Red carpet
    Rohan Milne from Rohan Jewellery
    Mike Levendi and Burt Muller from Levendi
    Olivar Musson from Musson Jewellers
  • Emerging talent
    Leah Straughair from MDT Design
    Hannah Alexander from Jewels of the Kimberley
    Brock Hodgson from Stephen Dibb Jewellery

'Ribbon' Ben Preston-Black and Wisam Sarji | Creations Jewellers

'Flame' Matthew Staff | MJS Jewellery

'Octave 45' Matthew Townsley | Miraj Jewellery

'Grill' Brett Wood | Brett’s Jewellers

'Night and day' Niki Jackson | J Farren-Price

'Kora' Brock Hodgson | Stephen Dibb Jewellery

'Sequel' Leah Straughair | MDT Design

'Vogue' Hannah Alexander | Jewels of the Kimberley

'Alluvial' Jodi Penfold | Jewels of the Kimberley

'Elanor' Jake Coughlan | Refraction Manufacturing Jewellers

'Fanciful' Ben Preston-Black and Wisam Sarji | Creations Jewellers

'Aella' Olivar Musson | Musson Jewellers

'Autumn' Rohan Milne | Rohan Jewellery

'Cascade' Mike Levendi and Burt Muller | Levendi

'Rainbow' Athena X Levendi | Levendi

'Brilliant' Ben Preston-Black | Creations Jewellers

'Spiral' Jeff Einstein | Jeff Einstein Jewellery


More reading

Diamond awards to move to Melbourne
Diamond Guild Awards moved to August; Opal Design Awards entries open
Diamond Awards back in 2018 after extended hiatus

Mays Exotic Gems & Jewellery

Read current issue

login to my account
Username: Password:
Peter W Beck
Pink Kimberley Australia
Duraflex Group Australia
© 2021 Befindan Media